MTC Week 4

Pretty much I’m at the MTC at the best time possible. Easter was last week and this weekend was General Conference. It was amazing. The Spirit here was so strong. Pretty much all we did Saturday and Sunday was eat, watch conference, eat again, watch some more conference, eat one more time, then talk about conference and go to bed. It was so great though. It was really easy to pay attention to the messages of the speakers and to get a lot out of it, because everyone else wanted to listen just as much. Our teachers encouraged us to go with questions written down that we wanted answers to. I’d never done that before, but after this Conference I seriously recommend it. I got answers in one way or another to every single question I came with. One answer came in the exact wording as the question I had written down. Pretty amazing stuff. We all got really excited when the numbers were read that we have over 65,000 missionaries right now! How awesome. Many speakers mentioned the prophesies of old being fulfilled as we are bringing the gospel to every nation, kindred, tongue, and people like a “stone cut out of the mountain without hands.” It’s truly a blessing to be part of that fulfillment. I also found that a major theme of this Conference was obedience. My Branch President says, “Obedience brings blessing. Strict obedience brings miracles.” I really believe that. My favorite talks were Pres. Henry B. Eyering’s and Pres. Deiter F. Uchtdorf’s. If you missed either one of them, PLEASE go back and read/watch it. It’ll be worth it. Promise.
After General Conference ended yesterday we were able to have our Sunday evening devotional with very special guests. Drumroll please…..BYU’s Vocal Point! I was so excited. They came and sang a few songs and gave a little advice for our missions as they are all RM’s. It was pretty great. It made me really want their new CD, but unfortunately the bookstore here doesn’t sell it. If you haven’t listened to it yet, you definitely should. So moving on before I turn into an infomercial, did you see that the combined BYU choirs sang at Conference?? How awesome is that! However, I was really hoping that the MTC choir would sing. Kinda ironic that as soon as I leave the BYU choir to sing in the MTC choir they get to perform for Conference. I was a little jealous, but then I got over it and was just proud. It was so awesome. Everyone here was so impressed at how good they sounded. That’s right. BYU choirs are pretty much just the best. And I hope ya’ll remembered that they did a feature on the MTC choir in between sessions and you watched/recorded it! They didn’t show it in the overflow room we were in, so I didn’t get to see it, but I heard it was good so I hope you were able to! Anyway, I don’t have much time left so I’ll just get onto the funny stuff before I go. Featured this week in our memorable quotes corner is, Elder Fa’asa, Elder DuFour, and Elder Jefferson. First, E. Fa’asa came into class one day with a rubber snake. When asked where he got it, he replied, “I made a friend in the hall and she gave it to me.” He called it, “the serpent on the mount.” Haha. We had a good laugh about that. Then we heard a girl in the hall say, “where is the Elder that stole my snake?” Ha. We made him give it back. Then, Elder Jefferson, in an effort to keep our classroom sanitary and germ-free, opened the door to sneeze outside in the hall…just as two sisters were walking by. Oops. Last but not least, Elder DuFour, while attempting to thank another district for the use of their classroom, tried to say “gracias por su cuarto,” which means, “thank you for your room,” but actually said, “gracias por su cuerpo,” which means, “thank you for your body.” Thank goodness they were Korean speaking. Yep. Gotta love District D. We’re getting closer and closer to our departure date, so pray that we learn everything else we need real soon! I love ya’ll. Thanks for the letters and support. I hope you have an awesome week.

Love,

Hermana Karson

Posted in MTC

Leave a Reply

