Newport News 6-11-13

This week we had a lot of time to spend with less active members on account of all the investigators that dropped us, so we spent almost every night last week having a Family Home Evening with families in the branch. Some of the families we’ve been working with for a while, and some we just started meeting with, but it’s pretty much our favorite thing to do. Even though we’ve been working hard to get less actives to come back to church, it was still a surprise when so many showed up this Sunday. We had a record breaking 60 people at church, which is almost twice as much as when we first came in the area. It’s been amazing to see so many people turning things around and putting the Lord first, and the blessing they’re receiving in their families for it.

In addition to all the time we spend meeting with members, we’ve had lots of opportunities to find new people to teach, which was suprisingly successful last Saturday. We decided to go to the flea market hoping to find some hispanics to teach, and ended up teaching a lesson on the spot almost as soon as we got there. Then as we were just about to leave we were talking to someone and a man came out of nowhere and demanded to know if we were Mormons. We told him yessir we are, and he started on a rampage telling us things that we believe (which we actually dont’) and accusing us of all sorts of ridiculousness. So I did all I felt I could do without making the situation more contentious. I bore a simple testimony. “I know this Church is true. It’s Jesus Christ’s own restored church. I know we have a living prophet who receives revelation, and I know the Book of Mormon is the word of God along with the Bible.” I don’t know if I said more, because I was too nervous to be aware of what I was saying, but I do remember that he didn’t say a thing after that. We were able to walk away without any furthur confrontation. It really is true that no one can argue with a sincere testimony of what you know to be true.
Last point before I go. I love the Gospel. It’s the only way to return back to our Heavenly Father and Savior Jesus Christ to live in their presence. I know my Redeemer lives, and I know this is his work.
I hope everything is going well at home. Love all of you.
 
Love,
Hermana Karson
Leave a Reply

